bump SONAME major to 8
authorMichael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Tue, 1 Jun 2021 21:01:49 +0000 (17:01 -0400)
committerMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Thu, 3 Jun 2021 18:22:59 +0000 (14:22 -0400)
commit3a50dfc27e0ae7e28ed9861646eb4a2ba63a67a6
tree3440405f8dc46c3a4d980b4ccacfce4708da5d6f
parenta0ec6d9b6b67e37fc81c98e04008907bc500cde8
bump SONAME major to 8

In URCU 0.11, we introduced new symbols to clean up the library symbol
namespacing, using the "alias" attribute to keep emitting the old
symbols, expecting to preserve ABI backward compatibility.
Unfortunately, it turns out that even though it works well for function
symbols, it is broken for public global variables due to the way ELF
copy relocation works.

When building a non-PIC executable that uses an extern variable, a .bss
symbol is emitted in the executable. This will take precedence over the
symbol implemented within the library in the Global Symbol Table.
Unfortunately, the alias within the library will not be aware that the
actual GST symbol differs from its alias within the library, and the
addresses for the symbol and its alias will differ at runtime.

Considering that this compatibility issue affects official library
releases, there is little we can do beyond documenting this issue, and
bumping the Userspace RCU major soname for the next (0.13) release.

Change-Id: I0ca8407dcffd871f025814923c6e329ec260133a
Signed-off-by: Michael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
configure.ac
This page took 0.033582 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.