Fix: don't wait after completion of a work queue job batch
authorJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Fri, 7 Dec 2018 22:06:38 +0000 (17:06 -0500)
committerMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Sun, 9 Dec 2018 11:47:12 +0000 (06:47 -0500)
As indicated in the previous patch of this series, waiting on
completion of a job batch from the work queue artificially increases
the latency of the work queue.

The previous patch removed the wait that is performed when the
work queue is observed to be empty and was observed as the cause of a
performance problem.

It is likely that waiting when the queue is observed to be non-empty
is similarly unintended. Note that I have not observed such a problem
myself.

If a workqueue user even need the explicit delay for batching (e.g. if
a call-rcu implementation would ever use the workqueue worker thread),
it can add it within the worker_before_wait_fct callback received as
argument from workqueue creation.

Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
src/workqueue.c

index 0b1a9eae41f91ba5bad8dc7e43db2731707d8854..39d0e077acc101b5e1588c9a1fae954050bd134c 100644 (file)
@@ -244,8 +244,6 @@ static void *workqueue_thread(void *arg)
                                 * urcu_work list.
                                 */
                                cmm_smp_mb();
-                       } else {
-                               (void) poll(NULL, 0, 10);
                        }
                } else {
                        (void) poll(NULL, 0, 10);
This page took 0.033044 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.