Fix: don't wait after completion of job batch if work queue is empty
authorJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Fri, 7 Dec 2018 22:06:37 +0000 (17:06 -0500)
committerMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Sun, 9 Dec 2018 11:45:16 +0000 (06:45 -0500)
commit73d8b52e55af02475eb693a33b36fcfbcf761c9a
tree76e3016199d03c398fd0f0a526646fdd747270ce
parentd25f25df027b158726f8a361e52f0e3a7529d5eb
Fix: don't wait after completion of job batch if work queue is empty

On completion of a batch of jobs from the work queue, a wait of 10
ms (using poll()) is performed if there is no work present in the
work queue before waiting on its futex.

The work queue thread's structure is inspired by the call-rcu thread.
In the context of the call-rcu thread, my understanding is that the
intention is to ensure that the thread does not continuously wake-up
to process a single queued item. This is fine as an application should
not wait for a call-rcu job to be executed (or at least I don't see a
use-case for that).

In the context of the work queue, waiting for more work to be available
artificially slows down the execution of work on which an application
may wait.

I have observed a case where LTTng's session daemon's shutdown is
takes around 4 seconds as a large number of cds_lfht objects are
destroyed. Removing the wait reduces the duration of this phase of the
shut-down to almost ~10ms.

If a workqueue user even need the explicit delay for batching (e.g. if
a call-rcu implementation would ever use the workqueue worker thread),
it can add it within the worker_before_wait_fct callback received as
argument from workqueue creation.

Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
src/workqueue.c
This page took 0.050731 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.