Fix: SONAME bump to 6.1.0
authorMichael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Mon, 3 Jun 2019 20:36:43 +0000 (16:36 -0400)
committerMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Mon, 3 Jun 2019 21:20:21 +0000 (17:20 -0400)
In commit d6c78161aed9b2d550ce201b0a8cd5b3ee515ac8 we bumped the 'age'
part of the library version with the intention of keeping the same major
SONAME because we only introduced new symbols. However by bumping the
'age' and not the 'current' we substracted 1 to the major SONAME which
we did not intend. Seems like we missed this in testing.

Fix it by bumping the 'current' to end up with an SONAME of 6.1.0 which
is what we originally intended.

From the libtool manual for reference :

  Programs using the previous version may use the new version as drop-in
  replacement, but programs using the new version may use APIs not present
  in the previous one. In other words, a program linking against the new
  version may fail with “unresolved symbols” if linking against the old
  version at runtime: set revision to 0, bump current and age.

Signed-off-by: Michael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
configure.ac

index ed608855431974f0fcf63ddde2a58b6a5227c80d..1d13ea38b0dee4c01052367205a1eae71dfec9a9 100644 (file)
@@ -3,7 +3,7 @@ AC_INIT([userspace-rcu],[0.11.0],[mathieu dot desnoyers at efficios dot com], []
 
 # Following the numbering scheme proposed by libtool for the library version
 # http://www.gnu.org/software/libtool/manual/html_node/Updating-version-info.html
-AC_SUBST([URCU_LIBRARY_VERSION], [6:0:1])
+AC_SUBST([URCU_LIBRARY_VERSION], [7:0:1])
 
 AC_CONFIG_HEADERS([include/config.h include/urcu/config.h])
 AC_CONFIG_AUX_DIR([config])
This page took 0.036008 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.