Fix: SONAME bump to 6.1.0
authorMichael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Mon, 3 Jun 2019 20:36:43 +0000 (16:36 -0400)
committerMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Mon, 3 Jun 2019 21:20:21 +0000 (17:20 -0400)
commita3371e45efb72e354e3afd3a19b665c1d03a5ee3
treecb491fb0ddfafb09d0c05ac5de9a9f9a717751ad
parent5bed6565b4dd609303e5f97285e4b2ff5038dad4
Fix: SONAME bump to 6.1.0

In commit d6c78161aed9b2d550ce201b0a8cd5b3ee515ac8 we bumped the 'age'
part of the library version with the intention of keeping the same major
SONAME because we only introduced new symbols. However by bumping the
'age' and not the 'current' we substracted 1 to the major SONAME which
we did not intend. Seems like we missed this in testing.

Fix it by bumping the 'current' to end up with an SONAME of 6.1.0 which
is what we originally intended.

From the libtool manual for reference :

  Programs using the previous version may use the new version as drop-in
  replacement, but programs using the new version may use APIs not present
  in the previous one. In other words, a program linking against the new
  version may fail with “unresolved symbols” if linking against the old
  version at runtime: set revision to 0, bump current and age.

Signed-off-by: Michael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
configure.ac
This page took 0.05165 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.